CQBlog 20/04/24 – Socks

How many times did you get dressed and undressed yesterday?  Normally, you get up, get dressed, get undressed to go to bed, right?  I generally gym or swim in the mornings, which involves a couple more getting dressed/undressed.  And then I have a lovely bath and get dressed again for the evening.  So that’s probably more than the norm, but this week I’ve had a couple of occasions to consider the impact of getting dressed/undressed when your body doesn’t do what you need it to do.  

I realise just how important your hip flexors are for every day stuff.  Apart from stopping me walking very far, or wearing anything at all with heels, one of the most difficult things as my hips become less and less flexible, is anything that counts as footwear.  Like putting your socks on.  Currently, I am unable to bend enough to reach my toes with both hands at the same time, which of course is generally a prerequisite for cutting or painting toenails, and of course putting your shoes and socks on.

On Wednesday, after my swimming class, I was last out of the changing room, even though I wasn’t last in, because I just couldn’t get my socks on.  It did occur to me to give up on the socks and just go straight into my Converse, but it was still more than a little cold outside so I just had to keep going.  

But then yesterday, I think I hit a getting-changed record, and it really is exhausting.  Obviously, I got up, showered and dressed before heading in to town for a swim.  Before any undressing challenge arises, I’m faced with another really challenging task: putting those blue plastic over things to cover my shoes before walking in to the changing village.  Again, bloody impossible to do that one handed.  Even harder when I’ve fort Docs on. And yes, I know I could choose to take my shoes off and walk in barefoot, but that then means I have to walk out barefoot, and put my shoes and socks on fully dressed and on a really tiny uncomfortable bench.  Of the two challenges, I choose the blue plastic bags.  Then obviously I swim, 20 lengths front crawl, 10 lengths backstroke, steam room for 10 minutes while I work myself up to getting dressed.  And of course taking off the blue overshoes once fully dressed, and usually in my coat, which makes it harder.

Converse and socks on and off twice so far.  I’m counting the blue things as another one, so three times.  

Then I headed two blocks down for my physio appointment, which this week included lots of acupuncture and a really helpful hip manipulation.  Everything on and off again. That makes four.  Although after the manipulation, I can do socks no problem! Let’s see how long that lasts…

After lunch, the weather was still glorious, so it was a perfect opportunity to swim.  Blue skies, tiny little fluffy white clouds and 9 C.  Chilly to say the least which calls for the wet suit.  This here is a blinking exercise activity in its own right.  Start with a fetching pair of pop socks that make getting the wet suit boots easier to get off afterwards.  Then one leg in, and remember to put one boot on before it becomes impossible.  Not almost impossible.  Impossible.  Last time, I forgot until the wetsuit was fully zipped up and I needed Mr CQ to put them on for me.  So avoid that this time, second leg in, and a real struggle to reach my left foot enough to get my foot in.  Even harder to zip it up and fasten the Velcro, but I’m in.  Pull each of the legs up to my knees, then, hands inside each leg, pulling them up to reach my arse.  Normally, I’d employ a fair amount of jiggling to get into it, but this also is something I can’t do any more without jarring everything.  

By the time I got the suit up to the top of my thighs, I was virtually done in, and totally considered giving in and not going swimming.  But then, I was the driver for my swim buddies so not going was not an option.  And I know just how much I will feel better for swimming so carry on.  Hands inside to pull it up and over my bum, a little jump to help it.  Totally unsuccessful.  In the end, I gave in and fell on the mercy of Mr CQ who just pulled it up, arms in and zipped up like it was just a terry towelling Babygro.  But at least I was in.  And actually, it felt almost comfortable.  There I was ready to go.  

The swim, or more accurately hanging around in the water, was fabulous.  And exactly what I needed, just as I knew it would be.  But then of course it all needed to come off again.  Since I made the realisation that I don’t need to take it off on the beach, I just pop my dry robe on, and disrobe in my own shower at home.  Postponing the struggle, but at least meaning I can do it sitting on a stool, not perched on a rock with my feet unsteady in the sand, and without an audience.  Or I can bring in Mr CQ to assist.  But today, this makes five, although I think the wet suit should count as more than one, but hey ho. 

Out of my wetsuit, boots, pop socks, and into the bath for a lovely long soak, and another getting dressed afterwards.  But here, I can avoid shoes.  I struggle with slippers when I’m really tired, often finding that I can’t pick my feet up properly and trip quite easily, which of course is not a good thing.  This is why I am so dependent on my Converse during the day, because I am well and truly laced in and they are as light as a feather.  This time though, I opt for slipper socks, which are the easiest to put on by a far stretch, leaving me wondering how I can bring the slipper socks into next Wednesdays swimming class wardrobe.  And this is six.  

But six actually means 12 times I’ve needed to struggle with that bending, stretching, juggling how much I can do with one hand, before being able to get them past my heel at which point, I can actually use both hands without too much challenge.  

And this brings me to the reason why I thought I’d share this with you today.  Over the years, I have noticed many older women without socks or tights (and don’t even let’s think of tights – the reason I’m wearing jeans rather than a dress most times is because *that* struggle with tights can often be more than uncomfortable, and quite painful) in the most inclement weather.  And not only that, they’re wearing sandals or crocs or something that has obviously been easy to put on.  How lazy. There have been countless occasions when I have scoffed, or tutted, and wondered if these women have given any thought to how they look, never mind wondering if they aren’t freezing cold.  

In later years, I have employed that ‘it’s none of my business’ buzzer in my head and said nothing, obviously, but now, NOW, I understand why.  And they have my every sympathy.  There are numerous occasions when I feel quite like the old me until it is time to think about footwear.  And I’m restricted to Converse, or Docs in the rain, although Docs are ridiculously heavy and mean I can only wear them in short doses.  

But, who knew socks were such a challenge?  And tights even more so?  So now I’ve popped that thought in your head, I’m sure you’ll notice these women, and instead of tutting or rolling your eyes, send positive vibes instead.  There’s likely to be a struggle avoided in that decision.  Trust me, it will be the absolute last straw before I get to that point.  So ladies, you have my sympathy, and I’d quite like yours if it comes to that.  

3 thoughts on “CQBlog 20/04/24 – Socks”

  1. you do make life difficult for yourself! I’ve resorted to zip up trainers from Clarks. So looking forward to the warmer weather when I can just slide into various colours of Birkenstock. The hospital gave me a sock putter onnerer! No idea what they’re known as normally. You put your sock on it and then hold the long cord whilst you pop your foot in then just pull it on! Simples! They must sell them on Amazon. Ask Mr CQ to make you one, it’s just a bit of cord and a plastic thing. Google it! Much love from us all here! Axx

    Like

    1. So sorry Aud – I read this and just completely forgot to reply 😦 Tbh, the sock thing is a way I can mark progress, or not, with exercises and physio etc. I might just go in search of the putter onner sometime soon though. But as hard as it is, I still struggle with boring sensible footwear. I think as long as I can get into my Converse (eventually), I’ll feel at least a little tiny bit like me. You know you’ll know when I have to give them up…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment